Day 3, Part 4 – Toyota Mega Web

Next stop was Toyota Mega Web, which is in Palette Town. It was a bit of a trek from Decks. I had totally underestimated the distance between buildings in Odaiba, which was why it was such an exhausting day!

We had to go across this pedestrian bridge and then through a parking lot.

image

When I first started researching, I read about the little cars that the kids could drive. But then I looked on the official website and it said that the ride experiences were only for those who could understand Japanese. When we got there and I saw an information desk, I decided to double check – NO Japanese was required (except for the one where the kids assemble a car). Yay! I checked the website again and now it says Japanese, English, Chinese, or Korean, so I think they probably hired some more bilingual employees.

The Ride Studio is across a walkway from the Showcase. DD did the Petit Ride One for 3-5 year olds. There was no line and it was free (yay!). I see on the website that it’s a promotion though, usualy its 200 yen. She had some trouble steering and DH had to follow her around. :laughing:

DS drove the Pius, which is for 6-9 year olds. I had to sign him up for a slot first. Not an issue that day, but I can see it being one on weekends. Then I had to pay at a ticket machine. He did a training session, which I didn’t see because at this point DD was crying because she couldn’t drive the same car as her brother. :sad: Then there was a test, where DS had to go and stop on command (hand signals from the instructor) and go around cones in a figure 8. He did great, passed, and was on to the track. There is a camera in the car and I could see a close up of his face on the wall-mounted TV – very serious. :laughing: At the end, he got a driver’s license complete with his name, birth date, and picture printed on it. Great deal for 500 yen!

We saw some people drive around in the Camette, which is slightly bigger and can fit 2 people. Unfortunately, DS didn’t meet the height criteria (at least 4’ 5’’).

We then went back to the Showcase side and DH and DS spent A LOT of time looking at cars. :faint:

image

Concept cars:

This one reminds me of Tron:

image

Then we moved on to the lower level where I think it’s all current models.

image

I was SO, SO tired, I sat around most of the time. I started to wonder if I was getting sick, but thankfully, no, probably just jet lag. Before we left, we stopped in a store briefly and saw this cute suitcase:

image

Leave a comment