Day 3, Part 3 – Legoland Discovery Center

I got the tickets through JTB (japanican.com). It was a little cheaper than the advance tickets directly through Legoland Discovery. They were 1400 yen/person (adults and children are the same price, only age 2 and under are free). We had to pick a date and it was nonrefundable and not changeable, so I decided to play it by ear and buy it once we were in Japan. The fine print says that the confirmation needed to be printed out, so I went to the front desk of the hotel to ask if they could do that for me. The first person I talked to, his English wasn’t so great and he thought I wanted to make photocopies and showed me a price sheet. When it became clear we weren’t communicating, he told me to wait for the same nice lady who had checked us in (wish I had caught her name). She told me I could e-mail it to the hotel and come pick it up later. When I went to pick it up, she immediately saw me and came out from behind the counter with the print out, no charge. :)

The kids have been to Legoland California (the full size theme park) several times since we go to Southern California at least once a year to visit their grandma. They LOVE it. Our last trip, we spent 3 days there and by the end DH and I were a little sick of it, but the kids STILL asked to go back as we were leaving the last day. :rolleyes: So – I thought, well, there are some different things, we’re going to Odaiba anyways…I guess we’ll go. I would regret that decision – just tried to do too much! But more on that later….

There is an area with Lego models of a lot of the sights around Tokyo. Here’s Decks (the building we’re in), with the Fuji TV Building behind it.

image

Godzilla pops out and roars. It’s so cute and I love his shadow.

image

Tokyo Skytree…

image

…and the golden turd. :laughing:

image

There is a dark ride called Kingdom Quest where you shoot at targets, some of the targets are physical things (like a treasure chest), but a lot of it is on screens. It was a Tuesday and not that crowded, we went on twice with no wait. The other ride is Merlin’s Apprentice Ride. The seats are attached to hydraulic arms that go in a circle and you have to pedal to go higher. The first time we went, there was a line and we had to wait for the next, next cycle. But then we went again later in the afternoon with no line, we even stayed on a second time. There were 2 different 4D movies. We only saw the Lego Movie one since we’d seen the Chima one before. DS spent a little time building a car to send down a ramp while DD played with the big foam Legos. Near the exit is a big train table with Lego buildings and a Duplo Shinkansen to push around.

There is also a play structure:

image

And a snack bar, where I got a cup of very expensive coffee (a small cup for 400 yen!). The cup was cute though with Lego mini figure pictures on it….

image

Leave a comment