Day 11, Part 1 – From Land to Sea (the quest for Pooh and I forgot to do what??)

Today we were moving to the Hotel MiraCosta! But first, we needed to trek back into TDL to ride Pooh. We dropped off the luggage and backpacks at the bellhop for delivery to the MiraCosta, except for DH’s backpack we would need to pick up since it has the laptop. We took some last pictures in the lobby and outside (see Day 10, Part 4), then headed out. It was about 11 AM by this point (what with getting ready and packing up, etc.) and we ran smack dab into the parade. We had to go around the long way through Tomorrowland. I was feeling a little grouchy and kicking myself for waiting for the FP time and not going on Pooh when the standby waits had been 30 minutes. I was also questioning is it really worth it? But we were half way there, so we trekked on. DD was lagging and DH carried her. I had a 1 PM reservation at Ristorante Di Canaletto in DisneySea that I was a little worried about making. Finally, we get there and Pooh was –

AWESOME!!! pooh::tigger:

The dream sequence is so fun and a little psychedelic. :) When we got out, the kids asked if we can go again. The standby wait was 30 minutes, but I was worried about making the lunch reservation. Now I was kicking myself for not going on earlier so we could go more times!

I should mention that the priority admission tickets we got say they need to be used on the same day, but we didn’t have any problems using it the next day. I don’t know if this was because the CM knew that it had broken down late the night before. We headed out and DH carried DD most of the way in the interest of time. We picked up the backpack at DLH and took the monorail to DisneySea Station then followed the signs to the MiraCosta. There is a walkway:


Then arrived in the lobby:


DH dropped off his backpack with the bellhop and I went to do pre check-in. Half way through the process, I suddenly remember –

I FORGOT TO CHECK OUT OF DLH!! :eek::eek::eek:

I tell the CM, but she seems unconcerned. She tells me DLH knows I’m coming there since I had them transfer luggage. Then I ask her, but I haven’t signed my bill yet…? She pauses. Then says maybe I can sign it there and calls DLH to check, but no such luck. I need to go back. I ask her if I can go later, she says yes but please go today.

SIGH. No one to blame but myself. Getting old…. :faint:

I still had a little time before the lunch reservation, so I stopped by the bellhop desk to get tickets for the airport limo. I wasn’t sure if I needed reservations (maybe not), but I did it just in case. The CM showed me the bus schedule to Haneda airport and told me that the recommendation is to take a bus 2 hours before my flight time. I was surprised and asked him only 2 hours? He said yes, asked my flight time, and then pointed to the bus time that was 2 hours before. I thought, okay, I guess airports in Japan are just more efficient like everything else in Japan, and went with it. I paid for the tickets, but I think I could have paid when we got off too. In hindsight, I don’t think 2 hours before was the right recommendation, but it did turn out fine. We got to the gate about 15 minutes before boarding. There’s no room for contingencies though, so I would definitely pick an earlier bus next time.

Leave a comment