Day 3, Part 1 (Himiko water bus) – An exhausting day in Odaiba!

Today we took the futuristic looking Himiko ferry (or water bus as the official website calls it) to Odaiba. The Tokyo Cruise terminal wasn’t far from the hotel, less than 10 minutes walk. Adult tickets were 1560 yen, DS was 930 yen (< age 12), and DD was 300 yen (< age 6).

image

Here’s a picture from outside the terminal, with view of Tokyo Skytree and Asahi Beer Hall (the black building with the “golden turd” on top). Before I looked it up, I was calling it the golden yam. I guess I was being too nice. :laughing: According to Wikipedia, it’s supposed to represent the “burning heart of Asahi beer” and a frothy head.

image

It was rather stuffy in the ferry with all the glass. I don’t know if it’s always that way, or maybe the air conditioner wasn’t on high enough that day. Some pictures of the inside:

Another view of the “golden turd” from the ferry:

image

View of Odaiba:

image

At Odaiba pier, the boat in the background with people standing on top is the Hotaluna. It left 10 minutes before us and arrived after us because it makes one stop. I thought the only difference between it and the Himiko was that it wasn’t direct. When I saw the people on top I thought darn, we should have taken that one instead!

image

Leave a comment