Day 1, Part 2 – Gate Hotel Asakusa

I booked the Gate Hotel Asakusa Kaminarimon by Hulic (official name) through Travelocity with a 17% off coupon, plus there was 6% cashback through one of those cashback sites. I was charged in USD and the total came to $495 for 4 nights (including taxes and fees), which comes out to $124/night. I thought it was a great deal for Tokyo! We had the Style E Essential Twin room. The term “twin” room in Japan means 2 single beds, “triple” means 3 single beds, and “double” means 1 double bed. I was a little confused at first! Every hotel in Japan has different policies concerning kids, it can be a little challenging figuring out what the policy is. The most common I saw were children count as adults (this was usually the case in hotel rooms that were very small) and one child under 6 sleep free in existing bedding (i.e. bed share). Gate Hotel’s policy was children under 12 sleeps free in existing bedding. Sheraton Tokyo Bay’s policy was children under 17. The TDR hotels were under 11, though it’s probably less of an issue there since many rooms have 3 or even 4 beds.

The lobby of the Gate Hotel is at the top floor with a nice view of the Tokyo Skytree. A very nice lady who speaks excellent English checked us in. She would help us with a couple of other things during our stay. I asked her about the b-mobile SIM cards I had ordered online and sent to the hotel and she found them quickly. I learned about these SIM cards from TDR Explorer and thought they were a great deal. 14 days of unlimited data (throttled if more than 1 GB over any 3 days period) for 2380 JPY (including tax). It was inexpensive enough that we got two, one for my phone and one for DH’s, which proved invaluable when we split up at TDR. We’re pretty light users – web pages, IM, a few uploads to FB (no streaming or Facetime, etc.) and it worked great for us.

Okay, enough logistics and on to pictures!

Lobby:

View of Tokyo Skytree from the lobby:

image

The room was clean, modern, and comfortable. My first thought when I walked in was – gosh, it looks smaller than the pictures. But I think I had just forgotten how small Tokyo hotel rooms are in general and it’s actually more spacious than our Shinjuku room the first trip. There is not a lot of storage – only 2 small drawers and a tall cabinet. I was able to fit the 2 empty suitcases in the cabinet. I’m glad I use packing cubes because a couple of those had to go in the top (and only) shelf of the cabinet.

The 2 drawers on the left of the picture. The tall cabinet is to the left of that (not in the picture). The cabinets in the picture have the small refrigerator, safe, and coffee/tea accoutrements in them, so can’t fit anything else.

img_6612

View of the street below from our room at night. Notice the Sushi Zanmai sign (the one above the orange taxi). :)

image

 

Leave a comment